Some people think that it is worth researching different minerals in space. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions diverge on whether the quest for minerals beyond the Earth is necessary. I firmly believe that despite the colossal investment required, findings of alternative resource suppliers are essential for the long-term sustainability of humanity.

Extraterrestrial mining requires substantial financial resources, with outcomes remaining uncertain and speculative. Developing the necessary technology to harness minerals in celestial bodies, including spacecraft, mining equipment, and life-supporting systems demands an exorbitant investment to ensure its resilience in extreme conditions and safe transportation back to Earth. It can be demonstrated in NASA’s Artemis program conducted by Space X and Blue Origins, with ambitions to conquer the Moon projected to cost up to 95 million dollars by 2025. The challenges displayed in this process raise a valid question of whether high-risk investments are worth gaining back uncertainties or should be allocated to more pressing and practical fields such as renewable energy.

In the face of dwindling terrestrial resources, humanity’s future depends on the exploration of alternative mineral suppliers in outer space. Celestial bodies such as asteroids or the Moon are packed with nickel, platinum, and helium which are essential components for manufacturing batteries for electronic devices, vehicles, and power-generating systems. The southern pole of the Moon, for instance, has ignited a space race among the elite players in the pursuit of helium-3, a rare chemical element harbored in vast quantities on the lunar surface. Physicists and planetary scientists estimated that its successful exploitation could grant humans a prosperous 10000-year span without concerns of resource scarcity and environmental degradation attributable to mining operations.

Whether scouring minerals in outer space should garn more emphasis remains a matter of great concern. Despite the huge financial risks involved, the potential benefits these efforts offer for the sustainable survival and advancement of Earth’s inhabitants are immense.