Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many urban areas have become overrun with corporate and industrial estates, majority of people believe that the government should facilitate the relocation or establishment of these industries in rural areas. In this essay, I will discuss the positives and negatives of this trend and explain why the benefits of this move outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, relocating industries and businesses to rural or regional areas brings significant benefits, particularly in reducing operational costs and expanding market reach. This are happened because the companies or factories operating close to rural areas can reduce production and logistics costs. Moreover, business activities in rural areas also can expand the marketing reach of the company or factory’s products by selling directly to local consumers in the region. For example, while a sugar factory located in a rural area can purchase sugarcane directly from local farmers and negotiate lower prices than in urban areas. Furthermore, the factory can then process the purchased sugarcane into finished products and sell them in nearby traditional markets. This reduces costs and creates mutual benefits for both the business and the local community because the companies can get new consumers and people no longer need to go all the way to the city to buy goods from the company or factory.

On the other hand, the government support for industrial relocation from metropolis to rural areas has disadvantage, particularly the negative impact on the local environment. Because of establishing industrial estates in rural areas,it can lead to environmental degradation and pollution. For example, when a paper company wants to establish a paper mill in a rural area, it will inevitably need land for development. As a result, many companies expand their industrial estates by taking over privately owned agricultural land. In some cases, forest fires and illegal deforestation often occur, resulting in air pollution and endangering the health and livelihoods of rural resident.

To conclude, although there is drawback of moving industries to regional place, the benefits of alliviate practical expense and widen market range are worth consideration. In my opinion, the benefits of such a trend definitely outweigh its manageable negatives.