Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Living in big cities is bad for people’s health. I agree with this statement if the cities are crowded and the number of vehicles exceeds their capacity. But if the cities are not crowded and vehicle capacity is maintained, then I disagree with this statement.

First of all, in crowded cities, people cannot enjoy natural refreshment. Rather than going to parks or natural places, they often visit restaurants, cinema halls, or other such places because parks are not mostly available in city areas. Secondly, if the number of vehicles exceeds its capacity, it produces more CO2, which is harmful to the lungs. For example, in Dhaka city, only one park is available, called Ramna Park, which is in the middle of the city. Its number of vehicles is almost double its capacity. So, people cannot enjoy a fresh environment and they face different types of health issues.

On the other hand, if the number of people is low or average in a big city, it means it produces less CO2. They need less accommodation, so more parks are available for enjoying free time and natural refreshment. Also, this city does not need many vehicles that are beyond its capacity, which also makes the environment fresh. For instance, in Sylhet city, the number of people is average, as is the number of vehicles. People use electric vehicles mostly, which are nature-friendly, and most of the people are healthy.

In conclusion, in big cities, if the number of people and vehicles is within its range or capacity, it is not a bad issue for people’s health; whereas, exceeding its boundary can impact people’s health.