Some people think that money is the best gift to give to young people while others think other types of gifts are better for young people. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people consider cash as a one of the best presents they can give to young people, because it is hard to buy something that others currently need. However, I think that there are better kinds of gifts that youth would appreciate more, and are not difficult to prepare.

It is always a struggle when it comes to choosing a useful and appropriate present for someone. It is even more difficult when the target is a child or adolescent, as any generation has different hobbies and interests from the others. However, there is one thing that will never get out of the fashion which is money. Young people can spend it on their current needs or save it for later, so it is always useful and practical. Many teenagers in Poland receive cash as their birthday present, and they are always happy about it, because most of them would have already planned to spend it on new clothing or video games.

As nice as it seems, in my opinion, money is a lazy gift, because it is not unique, and does not require any knowledge of the receiver’s interests. One of the best ways to show that a person really care about someone is spending some of their own free time on something that would made the other happy. These ideas have their own name, and can be referred as DIY (do it yourself) presents, as they require to put some effort. For example, a frame with group photos from holidays, trips or parties can be easy to make, for someone who takes a lot of pictures. A souvenir from another country may also be an interesting idea, for someone who travels a lot, as young people are usually fascinated about the world they have not visited yet.

In conclusion, money can be handy when there is no time to prepare something yourself, or when we do not have a lot in common with the person. However, DIY presents can bring more joy to the receiver and strengthen the relationship, as these are more personalised and interesting.