Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people consider that museums are the places where people should relax. Notwithstanding, others suppose them as an educational place and the aim of museums is to provide knowledge about the past. Both views are well-grounded, as everybody has variety outlook.

On the one hand, I support the idea that museums should be entertaining place for people. The main reason is that museums are mostly so boring that the young don’t have a desire to visit. To explain, it is clear that there are a numerous historical items in museums, and the only thing visitors do is to observe them. As a result, the time people spent at museums seems too long and dull, causing not to come back again. For instance, statistics show that about 72% of museum guests are school ang college students, who come there compulsorily or so as to not to participate in lessons. If it was an enjoyable place to entertain people, everyone would often go and feel the atmosphere of the ancient life by trying on ancient traditional clothes, using equipments of that time and watch a short videos on screens about how was the life spoken with ancient dialect. Moreover, if there was a special scene for school or college students to act like they were living in the past, it would be amazing and unforgettable day for them. Therefore, considering the interest of people, I believe there will be magnificent changes to positive side.

On the other hand, many think that museums have a goal to educate not just to entertain people. One of the reasons is that there are myriads of places where people can have fun, so the other places must do their work, including museums. Obviously, the main job of museums is to keep safe ancient stuffs, and it will be possible for everybody to see with their own eyes the historical items. Consequently, people will gain knowledge about these old used things and their pictures will appear in their mind when they read or listen about these things. As an example, 24% of college students go to the museums for learning about history, according to the recent statistics. If museums were intertaining places, people would use the extinct items and make them unusable anymore. Thus, every place and every building must do their own job in order to keep balance.

Overall, as we discusses both of the given viewpoints, they have their own truth. When it comes for me, I particially agree with the views above.