Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.
Nowadays, museums are the objective witness of history, consequently, they play an
indispensable role in our modernized society. According to some, museums should be
amusement places for all people. Meanwhile, the critics show that museums are established for
pedagogy purposes, therefore, they should be a place for educational aims. This essay aims to
discuss equally about the both perspective of this issue.
In the one hand, the advocates illustrate the two major reasons. Firstly,most museums are
intended to be tourist attractions. Museums are the places that almost the priceless and high
artistry paintings, sculptures are conserved. Consequently, it draws significantly attention from
tourists ,leading to massive increase in revenue for the travel market. Secondly, museums can
cause to the visitor’s boredom by too much educational content. If the museums are highly
academic, it is effortless to cause to tourist’s ennui,therefore,resulting to the lack of tourists and
revenue. To handle this issue, museums offer interactive games and activities for visitors. It will
gain a unforgettable experience of visitor in acquire a novelty knowledge about a new culture or
history.
On the other stance of this issue,critics show that museums should be educational place for
two reasons. Firstly, museums supply knowledge previously unknown to visitors. Museums, in
which the artifacts and knowledge are archived. Therefore, it should be place for pedagogy
purpose. For instance, historry museums are place where antiquated objective are displayed and
they also give detail explainations about the history behind this objects. Secondly, the purpose
that some museums are founded is for educational. Specifically,to help visitors understand the
deep meaning of each object, the professional guides are employed to explain to the visitors and
audio guides to give detail commentary about the exhibition. Consequently, the visitors can
understand the distinct fields of the exhibition.
Nevertheless, in my point of view, museums should offer full range of options, from games
and interactive material to proffesional guides to historical documentaries.
In summary, while the entertainment of museums is certainly essential for them to draw
attention of visitors. I maintain that the educational purpose of museums is equally necessary.
Consequently, it is highly recommended that a balance between the both stances should be made
for the development of museums.