Some people think that old buildings should be protected, while others believe that they should be replaced by newer buildings. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are plenty of conflicting views regarding the need for construction of more modern homes rather than maintaining the older ones. In my opinion, we should be focusing on building new structures, as they are adapted to the current realities and provide more security to the residents, though some efforts should also be allocated towards preserving the older buildings due to their cultural significance.

Constructions created over the past few decades have proven to be more reliable and resilient to the challenges faced by our society. Most of the current homes have central heating, water supply and electricity on site, which are the basic needs to any human being, and do not require additional installments. They are also more likely to withstand natural disasters, especially in areas vulnerable to them. For instance, most of the modern apartment blocks in Japan are designed to be earthquake and tsunami-resistant due to a large number of their occurrences in the country. While the majority of older buildings collapse following such disasters, the up to date constructions endure the damages, as well as manage to save lives of hundred of people residing in those homes.

Despite many traditional buildings not being so advanced, secure and requiring more maintenance, they still hold a huge value in the local history of the town or country. Plenty of houses in Europe have been built decades ago, some even dating 19th and 18th centuries, yet they are still being preserved, as some of these structures could have served as homes for leading figures in the past, or might have been a sight of historical events. One of such examples could be a historic center of Prague, which serves as both a vital landmark and the place of residence of locals. However, in order for this to work, the government must take necessary steps to maintain the buildings and make them adequate for a general usage.

To sum up, I believe that more work should be put towards the building of new constructions thanks to their convenience and correlation with the current needs, but we must not disregard the traditional houses completely and instead seek ways to ensure the longer functioning of such buildings in the future.