Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some individuals are of the opinion that when it comes to environmental issues, increasing the cost of fuel for vehicles such as cars is one of the best solutions. Personally, I partly agree with this statement and the reasons are explored in this essay.

On one hand, increasing the cost of fuel is an ideal way to tackle environmental problems. It stands to reason that private vehicles such as cars provide their users with more privacy and comfort, which explains why a majority of people choose to use these means of transportation. Consequently, increasing the cost of fuels for cars will encourage to opt for public transportation such as buses or subways as they are much more afforable and eco-friendly. Therefore, a considerable amount of carbon footprint from traffic will besolved.

On the other hand, there are some relevant issues when the cost of fuel is increased. In this day and age, as the world has witnessed such industrialization and modernization, a considerable amount of machinery and many vehicles, such as ships or planes, rely on fuel to run properly. It is true that a sudden surge in the cost of this important resource will have a negative effect globally. Specifically, this increase could lead to inflation, which ultimately gives rise to serious problems, such as a decrease in residents’ actual income. As a result, inflation could widen the gap between the rich and the poor in society as those who are with low to average income are likely to suffer from increasing expenditures, which could result in social unrest.

In conclusion, although this proposal has both benefits and setbacks, I believe that this is not a sustainable solution and should not be practiced. While such increase would encourage traffic users to use other means of public tranportation, it can give rise to serious social problems which are challenging to tackle.