Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society.Others ,however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

People have differing views on whether children should be taught by parents on how to behave well as a part of society, or if schools are responsible for this job. I believe that while schools are tailored to teach children, parents have a much bigger influence on them and therefore should have a dominant role in teaching what it means to be a good member of society.

On the one hand, schools have systems that are specifically made to teach children about this topic. Schools would have various methods of education that have been used for years. These teaching methods have been perfected overtime and are significantly more detailed compared to teaching outside of school. Therefore, they could provide a much more in depth explanation on how to become excellent members of the community. For example, school subjects such as civics and religious studies teach children about society and how to interact with it correspondingly.

On the other hand, parents are much more influential to children, especially those who are of a young age. Children who are still in the process of learning about society and how to behave within it, are undoubtedly of a very young age. At this age, their parents hold the most influence, and therefore their teachings will have long-lasting effects. Young children who are not accustomed to school will not fully immerse themselves in their studies, and therefore might not integrate what they learnt in school into their day to day lives. For instance, a vast majority of young children would obey and listen to their parents without question, but they do not do the same for teachers who they are not familiar with.

In conclusion, while schools have a much more refined and effective method of teaching, children are more likely to absorb and incorporate the lessons their parents teach them. Therefore, parents should play the primary role in teaching children about societal norms and how to behave according to them.