Some people think that people moving to a new country shuld accept new culture in the foreing country rather than living as a separate minority group with different lifestyles.Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that instead of living with their own community with distinct customs, individuals relocating to a new nation should adopt new cultures and traditions of the host country. While I admit that this can be advantageous to immigrants in some aspects, I would argue that the benefits of sticking to their traditional lifestyles are more significant.

On the one hand, there are several merits associated with blending in with new cultures .

To begin with, when having a better understanding of local customs, newcomers have the ability to move forward in their later lives. This might help them get on well with communities or build up a close-knit relationship with surrounding people, as most local inhabitants feel respected when their customs are understood and observed/obeyed. In addition, the integration into a new society can alleviate the possibility of misunderstanding or hostile behaviors. In Japan, for instance, every time one interacts with senior citizens in person, he or she is not willing to bow down to or give up the chair for these elderly people in subways, which can be considered as ill-mannered actions.

On the other hand, there are a host of underlying reasons why people migrating to a new country should uphold their cultural traditions. The primary reason is that cultural conservation /preservation can allow immigrants to express their love for family and take pride in their nation. One typical example of this is that Vietnamese community in America often endeavors to celebrate Tet holiday so that Vietnamese people, especially youngsters can be aware of long-standing customs such as ancestral worship or giving lucky money to children during this Lunar New Year holiday. This could lead such cultural heritages to be passed down on future generations and make them acknowledge their origin. Furthermore, if immigrants failed to live with their own community and broke the conventions like wearing traditional costume on special occasions or food habits, they would be subject to the risk of loneliness and homesickness .Likewise, abandoning cultural customs could be a grave mistake for almost all resettlers.

In conclusion, whilst following the tradition of the host nation can bring about a few advantages to immigrants, I regard that they can derive more benefits from retaining their own cultures, such as making their conventions still alive and avoiding the sense of being homesick and estranged