Some people think that researching the past is a waste of time and money. We should instead focus on the issues of today's world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While repeated reforms and changes have occurred throughout human evolutionary history, some of the past experience and lessons remain valuable in today’s social environment. Therefore, I believe researching history and learning from it are still necessary.

Undeniably, looking into historical relics and antiques can cost plenty of time and money, which, if put into a more practical use, may exert more direct positive effects on people’s lives. However, it is also important to note that the potential insights and ancient wisdom modern people can draw from it make this investment worthwhile. For example, democracy is one of the most brilliant gems we inherit from history. Originated in ancient Greece, it has instructed multiple rulers about the importance of delegating authority and involving citizens in political affairs. Today, many countries adopt this political system and regard it as the most fundamental basis on which healthy superstructures can be built. Moreover, the cruelty of wars in history, including the recent past, has been teaching us the value of peace, preventing conflicts from escalating into war and promoting resolutions through negotiations.

These positive outcomes may not bring immediate benefits to people’s well-being, but, in the long term, they help pave the way for more profound social equity and cohesion. Their significance can be much more long-lasting than only focusing on current issues, which probably are chronic failures rooted deeply in historical errors. Take the severe poverty in Africa as an example. Granted, there are geographical factors for it, but the long-held prejudice against black people certainly should take more blame. Therefore, rather than offering generous financial aid to them, the international community should reflect on themselves and shed racism. In a society where discrimination still lingers, material support can never address this issue at the root.

In conclusion, even in today’s fast-changing society, many social issues cannot be solved only from modern perspective since they have historical origins. Therefore, it is still crucial for us to learn from the past, and every single effort to do so can pay off.