Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some believe that the competitiveness in schools causes a bad effect on children, whereas others think that it motivates children to prosper. Although being in a competitive environment makes students work hard, I believe that it should not be set up in a school as it can be detrimental to children’s mental health.

To begin with, many think that growing in a competitive environment pushes students to work harder. When children compete, they want themselves to be the best. As a result, they push themselves to become a better version of themselves. However, not everyone has the capability to succeed. Some students are weak in studies, and they require extra care and attention. Growing in this type of environment can be difficult for this type of children.

Moreover, exposing students to a competitive atmosphere can be bad for their mental health. In these kind of environments, children are judged solely based on their results. Hence, when children work hard and don’t get the results they wish to, they might develop mental health issues. This can result in calamities of several types, including death. In fact, exam results are one of the prime causes due to which children commit suicide. This problem is solved when an individual isn’t bound by the comparison that takes place in a competitive environment. Indeed, when Nepal switched to a GPA system, eliminating the percentage rule – a more competitive form of marking – the cases of students committing suicide dropped drastically.

In conclusion, while the competitive environment comes with benefits like pushing a student to work harder, the negative impacts of this kind of atmosphere, like developing mental health issues, are far more concerning. Hence, I strongly discourage the development of a competitive environment in educational institutions.