Some people think that schools do not do enough to teach young people about how to look after their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of whether students are being taught at school on how to take care of their health or not is a very multifaceted topic. While some believe that, schools prioritize children’s academic performance over their health, some argue that, there are also special designed classes and workshops are being held at schools on health.

Nowadays, schools are focusing on the children’s performance on classes more compared to their health. Schools play a crucial role in their learning journey, thus, classes are conducted according to the subjects being taught. For example, in a math class teacher is responsible for explaining the topic and giving assignments, making sure that the students have absorbed the knowledge fully, while neglecting the pressure on students and their mental health. In this way, students also start caring about their homeworks rather than health due to the academic pressure the school is putting on.

On the other hand, many schools also take in to account of the students’ health, creating a balanced life. Plenty of schools organize workshops and educational campaigns on how to avoid common types of illnesses, injuries while doing an exercise or playing a game. This in turn, will benefit both the students and the school by improving the overall performance of students due to their good mental and physical health. For example, my school organizes morning exercises to encourage students to lead a healthier lifestyle and meetings with the professionals in the field of medicine to keep students up to date with the upcoming health issues.

In conclusion, whether the schools are doing enough to teach young people on how to take care of themselves or not is relative to each school and the environment. While some schools do provide educational opportunities on how to take care of their health, some prioritize students academic excellence over their health.