Some people think that schools should not test and grade students. Others think that grades are important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that schools should not test and assess students, whereas others think that grades are crucial. Both groups have a valid point; however, the latter’s ideas clearly outweigh the former’s. The main benefit of rating children is that it shows their real results and opens their eyes to their weaknesses, motivating them to work hard.

However, it also has some negative points; for instance, it might be insulting to some students.

On the one hand, a system without grades and exams could be beneficial if it does not insult pupils because there are no grades. Accordingly, there would be no bullying from other students. For example, many students with a low level of knowledge in some subjects suffer from ridicule from their classmates. So, in that case, this is a great solution. Nevertheless, this idea has some drawbacks, such as a lack of feedback; for instance, it would be difficult for teachers to explain mistakes and assess a student’s work, to show him his results, and it could also be demotivating for students because they would know that there are no incentives to study.

On the other hand, an assessment system is user-friendly and useful because it depicts students’ knowledge levels, and grades provide motivation to avoid mistakes in further exams and tests. For example, if a student fails an exam and receives a low grade, he would do his best to get the desired score next time. Moreover, the desire to receive the highest score will create a positive atmosphere and healthy competition among students. For instance, if there were a competition to create self-project work, everyone would try to win and take first place.

In conclusion, it is evident that both positions offer valuable points about the role of testing and grading in education. However, in my view, the merits of a structured grading system outweigh the benefits of eliminating assessments altogether. Grades not only provide critical feedback but also instill motivation and a competitive spirit that can enhance the educational experience.