Some people think that schools should not test and grade students. Others think that grades are important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is a dispute of whether schools should test students or not. Although the school grade is important as a legitimate proof of academic competencies, I tend to support the idea of eliminating school test because students’ abilities are too varied to be measured by a uniform standard.

The main reason for testing students is because the grade will prove students’ understanding of delivered materials. They will use the result to apply for higher education in some bonafide institutions. For example, Indrajaya, one of high school students in Malang city, Indonesia, worked hard and pursue 95 points for each subject to get into University of Indonesia, as one of top universities in Indonesia. However, in my opinion, this approach only benefits mid to top grade students who can fit to the school standard, and ignores those who got lower grade academically.

On the other hand, the schools exam is not important because students’ ability are too diverse and it is impossible to grade it with a uniform standard. In detail, some students perhaps lack of understanding in science subjects but excel at social sciences or sports or vice versa. By eliminating the exam, students will have more room to explore and improve what they are good at without worrying the rigid single standard. I tend to support this approach as it promote growth mindset in students.

In conclusion, applying school test is still a dilemma in society. But I believe that students competencies are diverse which is difficult to fit in a uniform school test, even though school grade is an academic proof that is admitted by many.