Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion

While some people advocate the categorization of students based on their academic levels, others champion the idea of an inclusive learning environment, where students of varying abilities study together. This essay will first closely examine both viewpoints, before concluding that I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, there are good grounds for selecting students based on their academic performances. The primary reason is that teachers can design and deliver lessons tailored to a specific learning level. For example, in a class where all students are high performers, a teacher might delve deeper into subjects, promoting critical thinking and problem-solving at an advanced level. In a class with students struggling academically, in contrast, teachers can provide more foundational instruction, ensuring that everyone comprehends the basics. Advocates of academic selection might also add that it can boost student confidence, as students are placed in environments where they can frequently excel or where they receive the support they need.

However, I side with those who say that it would wiser to group students of different academic levels together. First, this model mirrors the real world, preparing students for the diverse society they will join one day. In such a setting, students are taught that everyone has unique strengths and weaknesses, and they learn to appreciate diversity in thought and approach. This could instill in them a sense of empathy and mutual respect. In addition to this, grouping students together can promote peer teaching, with stronger students helping explain difficult, complex concepts and theories for their fellow classmates. Not only can this foster a supportive learning environment, but it can also aid these individuals in honing their interpersonal skills – competencies that are no less important in life than academic knowledge.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating sorting out students according to their academic levels, I would contend that the benefits of a diverse educational environment are far more significant. The real world is not segregated by ability, and schools – meant to prepare students for success therein – should not be either. By embracing differences and fostering an environment of mutual respect and growth, we can prepare students for not just academic success, but for life as a whole.