SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT SOCIAL MEDIA HAS MORE NEGATIVE EFFECTS THAN POSITIVE ONES. AGREE OR DISAGREE?

The impact of social media on people’s lifestyle has become a subject of debate in recent years. While some people contend that social media negatively influences their mental well- being and development of critical thinking, others , myself included, argue that it brings more benefits such as a wide range of information and a source of income.

To begin with, the first and foremost negative side of usage of social media platforms is that it restricts the imagination by offering ai genereted pictures or posts. Influencers , for example, share the same content, which is seen in the foreign content makers. Additionally, scrolling on social media may cause depression and a sense of dissatisfaction with one’s own life. The majority of people compare their personal lifestyle with those who share only happy moments of their life while going to high-street restaurants or buying brand clothes or items. That’s why lowering of self-esteem and confidence can be observed in society.

On the other hand, others, myself included, believe that social media plays a vital role in order to improve our awareness. News accounts , for instance, show the latest social and political information, which has happened recently to raise awareness in the society.Furthermore, this allows readers to write comments in order to show their perspectives about the matter. Another advantage of social media is financial contribution. Since creative contents which make sense are really beneficial for instagram algorithms. For this reason, it contributes some financial support to continue these actions.

In conclusion, although social media pose some threats such as damaging mental well- being and the overall imagination of people, I strongly believe that benefits such as awareness of instant news and financial contributions are helpful too. If society can maintain the balance on social media usage, it will be more effective and beneficial for the future generations.