Some people think that social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that recruiters are targeting applicants with adequate soft skills rather than academic certificates. While acknowledging justifications for this thinking, I wholeheartedly disagree with this statement, as formal qualifications are evidence of profound knowledge and desired qualities.

On the one hand, interpersonal skills can be a valuable asset for employees aspiring to success. Chief among these is that social skills assist workers to build productive relationships with coworkers and supervisors, which increases the chance of support to perform better at work and make tangible contributions. For instance, in a company setting, applicants must work in collaboration to gain the trust of their colleagues, who might, in return, become more willing to offer advice for group assignments and projects. Additionally, front-line employees who are socially adept may gain edges in interactions with customers, allowing them to leverage the company’s resources efficiently and effectively for long-term growth.

On the other hand, stellar credentials also play a key role in one’s career as an ultimate indicator of a candidate’s potential capability and career prospects. This foundation enables them to further develop essential skills and expertise required to excel in their roles. This, in turn, is especially true in technical professions, including health care, engineering, and science, which demand specialized knowledge and their level of proficiency through their qualifications. A prime example is that doctors and engineers exhibit a stronger correlation with stellar credentials than interpersonal skills, which explicitly explains why most recruiters in these fields have a tendency to give preference to a degree or diploma that demonstrates relevant skills.

In conclusion, although there are sparky merits for both arguments, I firmly concur that academic qualifications may be best for applicants as they assist them in specifying their adept knowledge about the jobs.