Some people think that social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some would say that good social skills are as important as good qualifications when it comes to employment. I totally agree because a sociable employee can attract people much more effectively and can also sell products faster.

Some people might think that social skills are not important and that it would be better to hire someone with more knowledge, but I think that sociable staff can be a reason for customers to return. Because they can gain customers’ trust and then provide them with any product. For example, in Vietnam, this technique was used when stores hired special employees with high social skills, and after a week, the number of clients almost doubled. Yet, they were not well-qualified, but it did not affect the business negatively, and they were more likely to succeed.

The second argument is that staff with good social skills can sell products much faster, and I believe that this criterion is highly demanded by companies. That is why it is much easier for people with this skill to find a job. Because the aim of almost all companies is to sell their products. What is more, nowadays, it is easy to get a qualification—some companies even provide it—but if a person is introverted, it is hard to change. So that is why people with good social skills are more likely to be hired.

In conclusion, while some individuals believe that employees should have good qualifications rather than social skills to get a job, in my opinion, today more companies prefer sociable workers because they can sell products much faster and can also be a reason for customers to return.