Some people think that students should study only the subjects that are useful for future careers, such as science and technology. Others believe that students should also study subjects like art, music, and history. Do you think students should study only useful subjects for jobs, or should they study a wider range of subjects? Give your opinion.

The question of whether university students should only prioritize subjects which will be useful to them later in life or pursue a broad range of academic discipline is the subject of much debate. While some people believe that subjects work as a connected system, meaning if a student does not understand one field, they may struggle to grasp more advanced ones. I firmly assert that, despite the fact mentioned above, I think there are many more valuable subjects to focus on.

On the one hand, studying a wider range of topics provides more enhanced knowledge. Obviously, students can develop skills across different subjects, which helps them expand their understanding, which consequently fosters development of well-rounded individuals with a universal skill set. For instance, learning mathematics together with economics helps individuals make better financial decisions in daily life. However, there is also an opposing view that suggests focusing on a limited number of useful subjects may be more effective.

On the other hand, devoting attention to one or limited type of subjects, can turn a student into a specialist in that field. Manifestly, a person who gains experience in one area not only becomes highly skilled and potentially successful, but also earns credibility. For example, prominent figures in various industries achieve unprecedented success primarily due to their in-depth expertise in a specific area. This demonstrates that mastering a particular field is often more rewarding than having a superficial understanding of many subjects.

In conclusion, although studying and gaining experience in a wider range of fields may enhance students’ knowledge becoming a specialist in one particular area provides significant opportunities later in life.