Some people think that studying at university is the best way to prepare for a successful career, while others believe that gaining work experience is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While one school of thought holds that applying to university or college is the best option to achieve success, others are of the opinion that it would be better to develop skills via vocational training or apprenticeships to achieve a successful career. In this essay, I will first closely examine both viewpoints before concluding that I agree with the former.

It is easy to understand why some people think vocational training and apprenticeships would be easier routes to achieve success. Firstly, after graduation, students have plenty of choices to choose from, and applying for these can help them immediately practice what is necessary for their future. For example, if a student wants to become a designer, they just need to learn how to draw or about the changes in society today to meet the demand of people who are looking for the latest items. Moreover, studying in that field only takes more than three years, and from that, they can save time, or even earn money at a young age. Secondly, contact with others, such as clients and customers, helps them gain knowledge and experience, avoid difficult situations, and handle situations more quickly.

However, studying in academic environments is still better for having a well-paid job and success in life. In this environment, students can learn; they do not have to work immediately and have more time to explore new places, or even if they are not keen on their major, they can change it, which helps them not to be overwhelmed. Next, if they pay attention to their major and become masters, they can have high incomes. For instance, my sister is now a doctor; she worked very hard to achieve her dream and then became a famous doctor in my area, which has helped her never worry about financial burden. Moreover, in the world, robots and artificial intelligence are becoming more and more popular; a wide range of jobs are being changed by them. Meanwhile, jobs that are being trained for in university and college are very hard to replace by robots and AI, which helps them not to be nervous.

In conclusion, vocational training and apprenticeships are good choices to achieve success, but can be replaced more easily. Therefore, studying at university and college is still better because this helps people have a long-term job.