The increased world demand for oil and gas made it necessary for locating these resources in remote and untouched natural areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these natural areas?

It is frequently argued if pros of extracting energy sources of oil and gas in remote areas outweigh the cons of destroying untouched natural places with their biodiversity? I am inclined to believe that disadvantages of such processes overbalance since the damage this activity triggers is severe and occasionally even irreversible.

From one perspective, due to increasing demand for non-renewable energy sources, people have to look for new fields. Advantages of this approach are evident owing to relative stability of both a familiar way of living and the global economy. Finding oil and gas prevents the world crisis, providing the opportunity to utilise conventional energy for housing, transportation, and industry. The attitude is convenient for ordinary people, business, and the Government because it ensures lower costs and higher income. Although the balance between economic growth and environmental protection ought to be maintained, downwards this race is likely to simply postpone an inevitable flop of the system.

From the opposite perspective, unsustainable economic model and overconsumption cause ecological imbalance. Namely, the necessity of looking for sources across untouched territories leads to environmental degradation, which includes deforestation, soil depletion, habitat destruction, and contamination of water bodies. It is clear that this human activity is one of the primary catalyst for climate change. Furthermore, it no longer guarantees sustainable development not only for the planet, but also for its population, since it does not offer a long-term solutions, posing a paramount threat to our survival. The lack of food, clear water and unpolluted air will pave the way for making them not a basic right but a privilege.

In conclusion, looking for oil and gas in remote regions with the virgin nature has both pluses and minuses. While excavation of such resources supplies our lifestyle and economy, it endanger human survival and may result in environmental disaster. This is the reason why I firmly believe that disadvantages prevail.