Some people think that the best way to succeed in life is to get a university education. Others, however, believe that a formal education is not as important as other factors, such as hard work and determination. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many people believe that a university education is no longer required to become successful, while others argue that it is still a significant part of a career ladder. I support the latter view, primarily because acquiring theoretical knowledge of particular subjects is significant.

Contemporary companies often do not require a university degree anymore, as they tend to value experience more. This is why many young and ambitious students prefer vocational training after graduating school instead of spending four more years at university, where a culture of rote learning is promoted. Moreover, to work in critical sectors, such as medicine, it is significant for young experts to have prior practical experience. This is why many opt for vocational training. However, universities still play a vital role in providing valuable theoretical knowledge, unlike vocational training, which mainly focuses on practice.

That is, knowledge of core subjects, such as mathematics, biology, and chemistry, still can be acquired in universities. Unlike vocational training, where only practical skills of learners are developed, in universities students learn discipline and dive into the immersive environment, involving deep understanding and qualified professionals, whose pedagogic methods support those who struggle with certain subjects. Additionally, a university education has recently experienced a comprehensive method reform. For example, students now participate in practical sessions after successfully passing standardized exams.

In conclusion, while many people argue that university is not relevant anymore, as modern corporations are likely to hire people with experience rather than those with broad knowledge, it is still crucial to learn subjects in depth.