Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think that it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is an ongoing debate of whether advancements in the technology have decreased crime or increased it. There are split opinions regarding this with few individuals believing that it has reduced offences whereas others disbelieve this. Therefore, before arriving on the decision, both the views need to examined.

Considering the former view, the foremost point is introduction of cybersecurity. Earlier, cyber-crimes were much prevalent and people were affected by a number of frauds. But due to new technologies it has become easy for the software to become more secure. For instance, development of Truecaller app allows us to know who is calling us and we can then receive the call accordingly. Besides this, the invention of CCTV cameras has solved the problem of illegal activities to a large extent. CCTV cameras can help in identifying the culprits who are engaged in accidents, murder and more such crimes.

Discussing the latter view, the first point is development of artificial intelligence. To elaborate, criminals now use algorithms to send private codes to individuals. For example, nowadays cases of OPT scam have surged a lot. Moreover, progress in technology has made it easy for new secret devices to be developed. Micro-cameras are developed which can be fitted in the rooms and then personal acts are recorded and the people are blackmailed.

To sum up and give my opinion, I would definitely vote for the first view. Although a few people misuse technology to commit crime, I believe that the advancements of technology have helped to reduce the offences in many parts of the world and has made the society a better place to live.