Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think that it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The technological advancements turned out to be the matter of a debate. Some people recognize the beneficial factors that contribute to the reduction of crime rates, whereas others are convinced that some innovations may lead to an increase in crime. I believe that despite the developments of different systems that facilitate the identification of a criminal, the existence of such influential programmes like social media and the internet, may negatively impact society.

On the one hand, some technological breakthroughs, generally cameras, dramatically alleviate the processes of monitoring the activities in public which consequently help to minimize most of the minor crimes. Moreover, the governmental digital databases contain the information of every citizen along with his DNA and fingerprints that are used to identify the criminal. From this point it can be surely declared that state-of-the-art technology plays fundamental role in strengthening the security and combatting crime.

However, contemporary innovations also provide more opportunities for criminals in different ways. The most evident example would be the influence of one of the most significant invention of humanity which considerably shifted the people’s life – the world wide web. Apart from its numerous advantages, the internet’s impact is often exploited by criminals by manipulating and scamming internet users without being punished. In addition, the existance of dark web, the huge platform where most of the illegal business is carried out, exacerbates the pressing matters and hinders the attempts to address contraband trafficking and illicit trades. The specific reason for which it’s problematic to resist the dark web, is that it’s users hide their activities through advanced VPN programmes that are considered to be the main impediment for criminal’s identification.

To summarize what has been stated so far, despite a great number of improvements of technology, such as various monitoring and information sharing systems, global organizations and governments are still struggling to counter cyber crime. The world urges the need of coordinated approaches and collaborative measures to be undertaken to secure the peace and enhance justice worldwide.