Some people think that the government provide free education at every level. However, some say that individuals should pay for their university education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is dispute amongst people on whether tertiary level education should be free. I, for one, support the abolition of college tuition fees. Firstly, the cost of education at university level is simply unaffordable for families living below the middle class. Additionally, many students end up taking loans which can hinder their performance in their career prospects.

Many people firmly believe that students should be obligated to pay for their tertiary education, whether it be through their parents, loans, or sponsorships. One reason for that opinion is the belief that taxpayer money should not be used to pay for the pursuits of undergraduates. Many of those who hold this belief might feel as if their hard-earned income is being used to fund other people’s education, which might ignite resentment and frustration. For instance, if someone wasn’t able to attain a degree for financial reasons or had to work hard to pay for their loans, they may adopt the ideology of ‘I suffered, so everyone else has to suffer!’

On the other side, many others hold an opposing view. One reasoning for that is that incredible talent could be wasted. Many students—particularly international ones—may have to sacrifice their dream institution and maybe even the idea of university itself. This could lead to potential academic talent being left to wither instead of flourish as it should. Furthermore, this loss of skilled personnel can lead to spots being filled in by far less competent individuals who were simply born into wealthier families. In the long run, this would lead to a shortage of a strong labor force and an overall worse quality of life.

In conclusion, while some may believe that degree level education should be earned, the argument that supports tuition-free university programs is much more convincing.