Some people think that the government should provide free education to students in university. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individiuals are of the opinion that education at universities should be paid by the government. This essay completely disagrees with this viewpoint because this policy can trigger financial challenges in the long term while there are many other effective and feasible measures.

While providing free schooling can be a short-term solution, it is difficult to seek financial support in the long run. Since most jobs in today’s labor market require a university degree, the demand for higher education has been rising rapidly. To accommodate this growing number of students while offering free tuition, the government would need to secure substantial and sustainable funding. Such fundings should not only be allocated for hiring qualified lecturers but also to maintain high educational standard and invest in modern facilities. However, if financial resources were not sufficient, educational institutions could stuggle to operate effectively, lowering overall teaching quality and interrupting students’ studies.

In stead of offering free education to all, universities can adopt more sustainable and viable solution to maintain long-term development. For example, they can grant scholarships or financial aid to students from disadvantaged backgrounds or those who have demonstrated outstanding academic performance by covering tuition fees, accommodations or living expenses. This enables these learners to access higher education on an equal footing, nuture their potential and thereby improve their social mobility . As a result, this approach not only guarantees for fair educational opportunties among students but also helps universities maintain financial sustainability and teaching quality in the long run.

In conclusion, I am convinced that covering free tuition fees at universities can lead to several financial problems which potentially lowers eductional standards and negatively affect students’ studies. Instead, there are many other effective policies that the government can implement in order to ensure a sustainable development.