Some people think that the increase in international travel has a negative impact on the environment and should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, so many people believe that tourism has a negative impact on the environment; that is why they want to restrict tourism. I do not agree with this opinion because tourism and learning new cultures are crucial for human life. At this point, we are focusing on other environmental problems.

First of all, travelers have a very important effect on countries’ economies. In 2024, so many people worked in tourism sectors, such as hotels, nightclubs, and restaurants. They worked and earned money for their daily lives. If we were to cut international travel, workers would be dismissed from their work. Thinking about Spain, Barcelona is a very popular hotspot for local and international people. On August 28, 2024, local people organized an action and said, “Tourists go home!” Because of this situation, so many people left Barcelona, and tourism came to a standstill. The Spanish government lost money; many waiters lost their jobs, and living expenses increased in Barcelona.

On the other hand, people need to learn new cultures. Every culture is important for developing knowledge. History, learning a new language, and traveling to historical places are crucial for human lives. However, climate change is a big world problem. First of all, we should not cut international travel. We should focus on other problems, like factories, cars using gas, improving new buildings, and cutting down trees in forests.

Personally speaking, we should not restrict international travel. This causes so many economic and cultural problems. Tourism is a big part of some countries’ economies. I recommend that we supervise factories, governments, and construction.