Some people think that the main factors influencing a child's development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

It is said that a child can learn and adapt his or her characteristics from the surroundings where they imitate and learn new lifestyle and routines. Regarding child’s development and mental growth, some argue that TV, local community, and music influence the child’s thinking and development. Others see that family is still more significant for the same cause. In this essay, I will demonstrate both opinions.

To begin with, some individuals believe that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Indeed, a child can absorb whatever surrounds him with variety of attitudes and knowledge. Moreover, a observing and imitation are one of great tools every child has to learn new skills or behaviour. In fact, studies reveal that 60% of children learn from different sources such friends of their age, Cartoon programs, or even the music they feel and listen to. Therefore, the environment where a kid lives has an impact on their formation.

In contrast, others think that family still remains more important. While there is different impacts on a kid’s behaviour and mental growth, the family is a powerful influence to a child development. As a matter of fact, statistics show that families are the one who determine how their kids behave by the methods those family follow and apply. Another good example is that a classroom with 20 children, each of which have their own characteristics implemented by their own family either with positive or negative impacts. Thus, family can embrace a their own kid with necessary skills or affect negatively on the kid’s attitude.

To conclude, although other factors can impact on a child’s evolution, the family is of utmost importance on shaping their kids’ development. As far as I am concerned, I support the later opinion.