Some people think that the main purpose of school and university education should be to prepare people for work. Others, however, think that the true role of education is to make us better citizens. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is considered by some that the key objective of traditional education is to develop individuals for the workforce, while others argue that its main purpose is to create responsible citizens. This essay will discuss both views.

On the one hand, people believe that the primary purpose of education is to assist people in entering the workforce as it allows individuals to be offered in better job positions, i.e., high paying jobs. This can lead to better living conditions for the people. Moreover, individuals having a tertiary education can lead and develop the country by entering governmental roles. As a result, they may make the best use of their experience and education in the betterment of the country and eventually lead to prosperity.

On the other hand, some people think that the key purpose of the tertiary education is to create better citizens since it teaches the individuals to be aware of the good and the bad. It means, they can make decisions which are morally right. This can lead to a lower crime rate and a safer environment for the citizens to live in. Additionally, individuals who have a tertiary education may volunteer for the community in hopes of better living conditions for others. Therefore, creating a harmonious environment and improving living conditions for all.

To conclude, I believe that the main purpose of school and university education is to assist individuals not only in getting higher job offers which create better lifestyles but also develop individuals who are responsible and morally aware of the environment and make better decisions in shaping a safer environment for the people.