Some people think that the main purpose of school and university education should be to prepare people for work. Others, however, think that the true role of education is to make us better citizens. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is no doubt that education in school and university plays a vital role in shaping society. However, people are still divided on whether its main function is to equip students for the workforce or strengthen their civic skills. In this essay, I will explore the two opposing ideas on education’s primary roles before drawing my own perspective.

On the one hand, educational institutions offer learners work qualifications that serve as tools when competing in the job market. In Vietnam, for example, people with no certificate granted by college are less competitive to those holding a diploma and tend to be hired to do manual jobs. Additionally, some sectors, such as technology, finance, the stock market,…. etc need candidates who are equipped with a wide range of academic knowledge. Specifically, if there is no academic or professional background refined in university years, students would be unlikely to find competitive jobs with a higher salary range.

On the other hand, the idea that the primary goal of the school is to better our society with citizens of good virtues and awareness is still embraced by most people for some reasons. First, education provides citizens with social knowledge about their rights and obligations which helps them gain access to public services and raise their voices. For instance, democracy and human rights are tremendously celebrated in American society because US citizens are all taught about how inequality, racism, and terrorism…… deteriorate society. Moreover, people with a good education will be less likely to commit social crimes such as thieves, drugs, and gangsters, which promotes the stability and advancement of society.

In conclusion, I believe that educational institutions can best equip people for the workforce since the economy is the root drive of the whole society. While the importance of education for work is imperative, the people’s integrity and social understanding could be solidified in schools and universities.