Some people think that the range of technology available to individuals is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people,while others hold the opposite opinion. Discuss these points of view. What is your opinion?

With the development of modern technology across various fields accessible to individuals, people hold different views on whether it increases the gap between the rich and the poor.

People who believe the gap will be increased between the poor and the rich may argue that advanced technology can better improve the work efficiency of the rich than the poor. For example, the rich are able to buy state-of-the-art computers, high-speed internet, and top-tier equipment to maximize outcomes, while the poor are constrained by limited financial resources. In other words, even though technology is advancing, the resources are still unfairly allocated between the rich and the poor. Also, rich people are able to afford cutting-edge medical treatments, which extends their longevity to maintain their wealth. Some diseases that were once incurable can now be treated effectively. These kinds of treatments usually cost a large amount of money. Even though the technology is available to each individual, without the money, the poor still cannot receive the treatments. Therefore, the rich continue to live long and prosper.

However, there are people who believe that this trend can narrow the gap. By accessing technology, the poor have opportunities to improve themselves and grow. For example, thanks to the internet, there are many free online tutorials featuring business management, marketing, computer skills, and foreign languages. With just a computer and free Wi-Fi at a local library, those who lack formal education can now receive proper education in diverse fields. Their employability will be largely improved with the knowledge gained from the online tutorials, which means their financial situation will be improved as well. What is more, compared to the past, it is easier for individuals to gain helpful information online now. Information can be very important when making critical decisions, such as those related to career and education. The poor might make more informed decisions if they have access to the necessary resources, securing a better future.

In conclusion, I believe that modern technology has narrowed the gap between the rich and the poor. Sectors once dominated by the rich now have opened up to the poor with adequate skills and knowledge. I see this as an advancement for our whole society.