Some people think that the teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject they are best at or they are most interested in. To what extent do you agree?

It is inevitable that different students have their own strength and interests in various compulsory courses at school, which has been a subject of debate. While some individuals argue that teenagers benefit from learning only about the preferred subjects, I contend that it is necessary to place emphasis on all subjects, which contribute to well-rounded knowledge, especially at early age.

It is evident that various subjects have significant impacts on fostering different abilities in teenagers, which can be indispensable and valuable in their life and that is why there are so many mandated courses in different education systems throughout the world. Even one dreaming of becoming a scientist in physics can not ignore the importance of speaking and writing skills. With only knowledge in math and physics, one may find challanges in writing high-quality essays, which not only hinder his way to top universities but also keep him from reporting his own scientific discoveries clearly. By contrast, as the interdisciplinary positions become increasingly prevalent in modern society, some cutting-edge computational skills like AI and biological analysis may be involved in a linguistic task aiming to reveal the languages from ancient people. Hence, only by equipped with multifaceted skills can one become competitive enough in the upcoming decades.

Furthermore, it is possible that teenagers have not determined their majors and career goals yet. Under such circumstances, multiple courses serve as essential sources to broaden students’ horizon, through which students are able to find out the subjects that they are fond of wholeheartedly and are willing to take as majors. Therefore, it is the comprehensive understanding about different subjects that enables students to decide their future paths reasonably.

Nevertheless, the proponents of one subject may believe that in-depth understanding of a subject of interests is crucial to become an expert in a specific field, which requires one to get fully concentrated on the subject, reviewing academic literatures and conducting research. Working on several subjects at a time may pose barriers to acquiring professional skills. Whereas, it is not the task for teenagers at young ages, in my view. Instead, after graduating from universities, adolescents still own plenty of opportunities to study further as graduate students to engage in professional training.

In conclusion, I assert that emphasizing on numerous courses at school play pivotal roles in cultivating interdisciplinary skills as well as broadening students’ horizon, which should thus be promoted, with more specific professional training being available in some later stages.