Some people think that traditional games are better than modern games in helping children develop their abilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our contemporary life, it has always been a controversial issue over whether modern games are not as good as traditional ones. As far as I am concerned, I firmly agree with this view and my reasons are justified below.

It is an undeniable fact that traditional games can foster and unlock some life skills for children such as communication skills or solving problem skills. In other words, most traditional games require kids to not only hang out to conduct, but also a large number of people who participate in games. For example, tug of war, which is one of the traditional games in Vietnam, and is until prevalent among Vietnamese children nowadays, has always been in need of a large quantity of children to play. As a result, it helps children strengthen the relationship with each other; moreover, it also fosters critical thinking skills of children when requiring some effective strategies to win. Thus, teenagers should be encouraged to enjoy some traditional games for developing both the relationship with their peers and the overall mentality.

On the other hand, it is understandable why some people are of the fervent conviction that modern games have a lot of benefits compared to older ones. They might believe that thanks to the advancement of technology, some online video games can bring some knowledge in their products to educate children instead of stimulating the happiness of children by most traditional games. Moreover, modern games nowadays can support their customers to connect with their friends to play together so that companies can be sure that players do not feel bored and lazy when playing alone, especially children. Thus, most parents, who do not have time to spend for their children, believe in allowing their kids to play games on their phones to find happiness. Nevertheless, children, who spend a lot of time using digital devices, can be easily isolated by their peers when they mostly do not participate in social activities; moreover, children’ eyes may be impacted such as hurting or eyesight problems because of spending much time on screens.

All things considered, I would therefore say that there is justifiable grounds for advocating the view that traditional games are much better than modern ones, when their benefits can outweigh the disadvantages.