Some people think that traditional reading materials (e.g. books and newspapers) are no longer useful, and electronic materials will replace them soon. Compare and contrast the benefits of the two different materials. Which one do you think is more useful? Why?

Certain concerned parties believe that digital products will replace conventional paper books due to its ubiquitous use in the modern days. I personally believe that paper products will never be replaced by technology based products because of its eye-convenience, neglect to distractions, and sense of physical touch.

On the one hand, technological advancements have led to many resources of knowledge, including electronic books and videos. This phenomenon is common to earlier generations’ way of study because of the availability of the internet connection. Many kinds of literature are provided on the internet, depending on what one wants to learn. However, this method of learning has some disadvantages since the internet also has many distractions to divide one’s focus from study, such as social media and other movie platforms.

On the other hand, paper books are less distraction and are eye-safe for a long time reading. People keep reading the printed resources because they feel comfortable reading for a long time. Moreover, some enjoy physical touch with books they are interested in since they can always open the book wherever they want with their own hand, without electricity. This kind of book is also versatile, that it gives a sense of belonging to its owner, for one will keep it safe for future reading. If one has already read the book, it can also be a gift to their beloved ones.

In conclusion, despite its compactness, electronic books have some disadvantages, including eye soreness and distraction. In my view, a traditional book is more useful because it has less distraction and the reader will remain focused on reading. Not only the joy of reading, but also the sense of belonging.