Some people think that violent films and video games have negative effects on people and should be banned. Others think that they are just relaxation sources. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

While movies and video games of а violent character are becoming increasingly popular, they continue to be rather controversial because the benefits are hard to quantify exactly. There are arguments on both sides of this very topical debate, and I will discuss them now.

On the one hand, opponents of the view that brutal movies and games should not be prohibited point to fact that these types of entertainments can serve as a way to relieve their stress after a difficult day. These movies and computer games can make people to focus on the plot or gameplay of them, thus providing strong distraction from daily worries and stressors. Moreover, violent games and films often give people a sense of excitment and adrenaline, which, in turn, can encourage people to seek similar feelings and physical activities in real life through sports. For instance, movie called Creed about boxing, which contains a lot of physical violence and blood, has inspired young people to do boxing, thereby providing them with a way to improve their physical well-being and find a favorite activity.

On the other hand, people who support the view that violent video games and films should be banned say that these entertainments often lead people to delusion. Many of these movies and games feature aggresive or warlike characters, ranging from soldiers to criminals and killers. This apparently leads individuals to percieve that such behavior is normal. In addition, people who dedicate a huge amount of time to watch or play these movies and games often become addicted to them, resulting in adopting negative lifestyle such as sedentary lifestyle. Last but not least, people who receive excessive amounts of brutal contents daily may become numb and isolated from reality, which can make them to lose their social skills.

To sum up, I tend to agree that it would be a wise choice to prohibit violent movies and video games because of the consequences which can occur after being involved in them.