Some people think that when a person travels into a different cultures they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extend do you agree?

Indonesia is a rich country in cultural diversity. Many travelers often experience this varity when visiting different region. Some believe that visitors should follow all local custom, while other think travelers can keep their own habit. I believe travelers should adapt to local habits to show respect, but they do not need to follow customs that make them uncomfortable.

Adapting to local custom is important because it can show respect and helps to create positive interaction between travelers and local people. When visitors follow and understand cultural rules, they can show appreciation for the host culture and avoid misunderstanding. It can make the experience smoother and more meaningful because local people often respond more warmly to travelers who make an effort to behave appropriately. For example, when visiting traditional places lile Keraton or Balines temple they have to wear politely clothes or if they are already wearing revealing clothes, they can but a sarong or more covered clothes at souvenir shop.

However, travelers do not have to follow every single customs, especially when it bother their comfort or personal habit. They should have freedom to remain respectful without participating in trandition that are too unfamiliar or difficult for them. Being polite and showing general respect is enough without have to complete all of traditions for showing their adaptations. For example, In Indonesia there is a common habit when people eat “Nasi Padang” or seafood they often using their hand and enjoying the food. While locals think this normal thing and enjoy with that habit but some travelers especially from countries with strict dining etiquette must feel uncomfortable when they doing this thing.

In conclusion, travelers should adapt to local customs when visiting another culture. It can represent respect and make a good connection. However, they should not to be pressured to follow local customs that make them uncomfortable.