Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common perception among some individuals that fluency in a language will never be achieved without living or working in a country where that language is spoken. This essay will focus on my agreement with the fact that without experiencing speaking a language in a country, people will not be able to be fluent.

On the one hand, living or working in another country can be beneficial for migrants in practicing a language because they would be able to speak to native speakers and exchange cultural values with local residents. First of all, by working in that country individuals can communicate with their colleagues during teamworks, thus improving speaking and listening skills. Second of all, they can share cultural experiences with citizens and become more fascinated in learning language.

On the other hand, non-native speakers might face with language barriers, as the population in many countries are prone to speak on their mother tongue. For instance, it can be challenging for migrants to ask for an aid from citizens if they got lost or need an assistance in translation. Needless to say, getting used to being in an unfamiliar environment, where the public speaks on their own language might seem to be impossible to overcome. This is because adaptation period can last for a long period of time and make people feel discouraged from learning that language.

In conclusion, having fundamental skills in a language, such as grammar and sentence structure can contribute to being fluent in a short-term because other aspects of a language will be taught by the environment where a person is.