Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Numerous individuals suppose that not until you spend time living and working in some country can you become fluent in its language. I definitely disagree with this statement owing to the fact that people can increase their fluency in any language on the internet and practicing their speaking at home.

The primary reason why I disapprove of the aforementioned statement is the possibility to enhance fluency in any language via the internet. Only when they turn their phone and everyday content they watch, like films and TikTok videos into the language they want to become fluent in can they enrich their vocabulary and grammar without necessarily learning them specifically and devoting most of their time. That is to say, they will learn the language with the method called “unconscious learning” with the internet without going abroad to spend time living and working there. For example, many people in Uzbekistan quickly become fluent in English by turning their phone and settings into English and watching films and contents in this language without going to the USA or the UK to live and work. As a result, individuals can boost their fluency via the internet.

Practising their speaking at home is another reason why I think that people can become fluent in any language without going to that country to spend time living and working. Should they practise their speaking in the language they want to ameliorate their fluency in by shadowing after a native speaker with videos at home, they will automatically learn vocabulary and proper structure of sentences after constantly repeating words and sentences. For example, rarely do people in the USA learn Spanish without shadowing and repeating words and sentences after a Spanish native speaker at home. As a result, they can become more fluent by improving their speaking at home.

In conclusion, many people think that only when you spend time living and working in some country can you become fluent in its language. I definitely disapprove of this statement due to the fact that people can enhance their fluency in any language via the internet and practicing their speaking at home.