Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people indeed think non-monetary work is necessary for adolescents to help people in the community. While there are drawbacks to this problem, I believe its advantages are more considerable.

On the one hand, this trend might exert some detrimental impacts on youngsters. To begin with, the requirement of unpaid work for young people is affecting individual freedom. This is mainly because some kids are required to do things they don’t like and are un-incentive. Therefore, it causes adverse effects on kids’ psychology such as irritation and nonchalance. Furthermore, it is said that voluntary activities are available for all ages. Hence, it is nonsense to say unpaid work should be an essential action for young people.

On the other hand, when more young people seek to help the community for free, an array of benefits can be foreseeable. Firstly, adolescents work for manifold people of different ages which allows them to develop their skills through volunteering such as communicating, soft skills, languages..etc. As a result, they strive to become a better version of themselves. Secondly, young people are also more aware of their everyday world, become more philanthropic, and value what they have. Thus, they play a salient role in creating a livable community in their country. For example, the “Volunteer World” organization gathers 75% of volunteers who are 17-22 years old to help the community in a specific country.

In conclusion, regardless of the negative effects, it seems to me that the huge benefits created by it far outweigh the disadvantages.