Some people think the best option is to accept a difficult situation, such as having a job they do not enjoy or not having enough money. Others believe it is better to try to make such situations better. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

An increasing number of people argue that it is best to accept adverse situations, while others believe that they can improve their circumstances by putting in their best effort. Accepting one’s situation can lead to a sense of contentment, as it creates the belief that there is nothing more to be done. However, striving to improve one’s circumstances fosters personal growth and fulfillment. I believe that while acceptance of one’s circumstances is important, there is more value in actively seeking to make positive changes.

On the one hand, people tend to feel that if they can’t change their situation, the best solution is to accept adversities like unsatisfactory jobs or financial constraints. Firstly, many will tend to overlook promotions or better job opportunities that are both financially rewarding and conveniently located. Furthermore, this acceptance can lead to people becoming stagnant and may have a detrimental impact on the well-being of the individual. For instance, working long hours in the same environment can cause frustration and fatigue, which can ultimately result in depression.

On the other hand, striving to better one’s situation can learn people to excel personally, rather than to passively accept their circumstances. One key argument is that people will find ways to adapt and seek opportunities to grow by demonstrating resilience by means of attending courses. In doing this, individuals will enhance their ability to grow, change, and develop. Moreover, seeking knowledge and fostering a positive attitude can foster trust and rapport with colleagues and superiors. For example, accepting an unsatisfying job may reduce stress short term, but over time, it can damage self-confidence and limit future opportunities.”

In conclusion, although accepting adversities is significant for some, I firmly believe that striving to improve one’s situation is ultimately feasible.