Some people think the best way to solve traffic congestion is to increase the cost of fuel for cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global cities are grappling with escalating challenges in traffic management, which necessitates the urgent call for efficient mobility solutions. Some argue that putting up the price of fuel represents the most effective strategy to conquer traffic congestion. However, it fails to consider the reason why car-using is a must for many and thus other pragmatic solutions exist to be adopted.

The argument in favour of the cost-raising policy is that it can mitigate traffic congestion by discourage people from purchasing and using cars. According to economic theories, if the price of fuel increase, the demand for it will thus decline, leading to a shrunk demand for cars, complements of fuel. As a result, the traffic condition could see an improvement as less vehicles on roads.

However, it is overly simplistic to assume that imposing higher prices on fuel has the potential to address the pressing issues of traffic gridlock. This is because for those who can afford a car, an increase in the oil price seems to be just a tiny proportion that they are prone to ignore. Therefore, such initiative would fail to hinder most people from driving cars.

To ameliorate traffic conditions, other efficacious approaches are needed. Public transport, such as buses and subways, should be improved: the capacity should be increased, services extended, and routes carefully planned. With an efficient traffic network, the transition from private vehicles to public transportation will take place voluntarily. “The last mile” problem should also be tackled with to facilitate citizen’s daily commute, by putting in place sufficient shared bikes and scooters. This is already the case in large cities, though less so in smaller ones or villages.

In conclusion, the proposal to increase the fuel cost is ineffective. Other practical strategies, including enhancement in public transportation services, could be adopted to alleviate traffic congestion.