Some people think the increasing use of technology in the workplace is good for young people's prospects of gaining a job and harder for old people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people subscribe to the notion that companies prioritize the proficiency in technology which more young people acquire than older generations, and that makes senior people stuck in difficulties while engaging to a job. In my opinion, I totally believe that the ability to use technology is not solely the determinant that employers need.

On the one hand, technological literacy may be conducive to young people in the job market. Most youngsters in this day and age are tech-savvy individuals, as they have a great exposure to digital tablets at such a young age, so that they acquire the capability to solve e-commerce problems more easily. Meanwhile, seniors would need more time to

obtain the know-how of using technology proficiently. Moreover, employers may find young people prospective because most of them are experts in technological field. However, just few occupations require tech-savvy employees such as IT, companies and corporations truly want workers with appropriate attitude and demeanor

On the other hand, positive behaviour, dedicated demeanor and empathy can totally outweigh any age-related concerns. As employers often value employees who are reliable, royal and willing to learn. For example, statistics have shown that youngsters are more likely to switch jobs frequently whereas older ones tend to stick with one position for a long period of time. Turning to the latter, the individual’s ability and working experience will be more important than technological concerns. If one can demonstrate their abilities and possesses necessary qualifications, they can undoubtedly be qualified for the high position regardless of their technological ability

In conclusion, while the knowledge in technology can does wonders for young people and helps them to have more opportunities in the job market, it is not the determinant that employers find for. Some attitude such as empathy, dedication and royalty and individual’s experience in their career can determine whether these employees are eligible for the occupation