Some people think they have the right to use as much fresh water as they want, while others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is a limited resource. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate whether fresh water should be managed by governments or used infinitely as people’s desires. In this essay, I will evaluate both perspectives before proposing my own opinion.

On the one hand, water plays a crucial role in agriculture and industry, which have direct influences on the national economy. First and foremost, if governments restrict the amount of fresh water, which citizens and employers require, it will be inflexible for them to implement projects and grow crops. This is because organisms and residents need to have the permission of states before using a large amount of fresh water, leading to wasting a lot of time and effort and then limiting economic development. Besides, people may have the right to use unlimited water due to paid taxes. In addition, these taxes increase exponentially, meaning that the more water they use, the more money they have to pay.

On the other hand, despite 75% of the Earth being water, the volume of fresh water which is able to be absorbed by people and utilized for other activities such as agriculture is limited. Indeed, it is true that government management may help water to be used effectively, leading to avoiding water wastage and overuse. For instance, in some African nations, there are several areas not having sufficient fresh water to meet the basic demand for local individuals. Therefore, states should control and distribute equitable water to these areas to ensure their well-being. Furthermore, the lack of people’s knowledge in preserving sources of water may potentially make these sources face pollution and saltwater intrusion.

In conclusion, despite the fact that flexible water usage can offer some great benefits, I strongly believe that the importance of the government tightly driving is indispensable to ensure the fairness and effectively using fresh water.