Some people think we should keep all the money we earn and not pay taxes to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fairly common opinion these days that what we earn belongs to us, but not to the state. Although there is some truth in this statement, I am rather inclined to disagree with the concept that citizens should be entitled to evade paying taxes.

It is common knowledge that, in many countries, it is a usual practice for governments to charge a certain amount of money from citizens in the form of taxes. Admittedly, for many, said taxation tends to become a serious problem, since far from all taxpayers are fortunate to possess businesses that generate significant incomes, nor do many earn exceptionally high salaries. Hence, a multitude of citizens are attempting to avoid paying taxes via all available methods, even though some of them may appear to be illegal. In essence, one could state that they are merely endeavouring to survive and be able to provide for their families, as well as enjoying their lives in this relatively cruel world. In theory, one cannot severely judge those people for their deeds in this regard, inasmuch as, in some cases, it may be literally impossible for them to dutifully pay all the imposed taxes and cover, at least, the basic expenses of their families.

Nevertheless, I deem that it is reasonable for governments to collect taxes from citizens, of course, only on the condition that, ideally, there is no corruption in the state and all the collected money will be directed to the maintenance of well-being in a country, including the construction of new infrastructures and the care for the most vulnerable categories of society. For instance, in some Scandinavian countries, namely Denmark, Norway, and Sweden, people do have comparatively high tax rates. However, all of the charged money is utilised to grant people free access to medical services, all kinds of educational establishments, nursery homes for the elderly and the like. In such countries, it is beyond any doubts that the governments there are taking care of their societies, and the moral qualities of such peoples are noticeably high. Therefore, under ideal circumstances, taxpayers should contribute to the development and prosperity of their countries and, as a result, be certain that they are residing in safe places, with their governments working on maintaining peace and order. In other words, funds collected as taxes are supposed to ensure stability and general well-being for each and every person in a country.

In light of the above, I would like to conclude that taxes are not always a burden for citizens; in some situations, taxation may provide individuals with way more benefits than difficulties. All in all, as they say, taxes are the price we pay for civilization.