Some people today prefer to get advice online for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Many individuals are incline towards getting advice from their parents, friends, and internet regarding their diseases rather than going to an expert. This can have negative effects on patients causing other problems.

In the modern life, everyone can browse on internet to find the most relevant answer to their certain health problems. Currently, there are more than thousands of articles that contain information on different illnesses. People can access a wide range of medical advices only with a click; this can be one of the underlying reasons of why people prefer to not go to doctors. Searching on the net can be more time saving for them rather than waiting in a long que to receive a specific appointment date. Additionally, everyone looks for an affordable way of receiving medical services, but the cost of visiting doctors is expensive, and some insurance policies may have not enough coverage or physicians would not register some types of insurances. In this case, it’s more preferable to seek guidance using alternative medicine.

However, this approach would have negative effects mostly for patients. Some information on websites is written for especial cases and may not contain some of the specific symptoms, also some of the given tips from other sources cannot be practical for some types of diseases. Furthermore, using some type of alternative medicines can worsen the health problem putting people at a high risk of self-diagnosis.

In conclusion, people prefer getting advice from others for their diseases mostly because of the accessibility and affordability, while this can be risky for individuals causing them other health problems.