Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some say that these are the best people to talk to school students about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, crime is a major concern worldwide because many people are being sent to prison every day, but once they are released, some become law-abiding citizens. According to some segments of society, these individuals are the most suitable to explain to students the consequences of criminal offences. I unequivocally affirm this standpoint. In my opinion, ex-offenders can easily deter juveniles from committing a crime by sharing their lived experiences and helping reduce youth involvement in illegal activities.

Firstly, they are the ones who used to live in the criminal world, and their conviction has taught them how they ruined their lives. They face societal hatred and experience rejection at every step of life. For example, a study published by Scotland Yard in 2010 stated that it is difficult for an individual to obtain a job, rent a house, or travel abroad after serving a prison sentence. Hence, such people are ideal guides for juveniles, helping them understand the adversity that comes from violating laws.

Secondly, teenagers today prefer to learn from experienced individuals because they enjoy listening to real stories of gang wars, money heists, and murders. Former lawbreakers are valuable resources for young people, as they can share their own experiences and those of their fellow inmates. To illustrate, in 2020 the Danish government saw a drastic drop in crime after hiring 100 former detainees to give lessons and discourage pupils from getting involved in illicit activity. Thus, students learn how committing a crime leads to a loss of meaningful time in life, financial instability, and damage to reputation and character.

To sum up, convicts can become assets when they transform into virtuous citizens. They irrefutably play a vital role in helping shape the new generation to follow laws by highlighting the deleterious outcomes of criminal behaviour.