Some people would say that parents should pay their children for small home duties (cleaning, washing dishes). Other would disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The ongoing debate regarding whether parents should remunerate their children for minor home responsibilities such as cleaning and washing dishes, has arisen with diverse opinions. Proponents of this idea argue that financial compensation evokes a sense of responsibility and teaches value of money, while opponents say that rewards erode intrinsic motivation. To the best of my knowledge, the best option is offering payment rarely.

On the one hand, providing payment for housework can improve children’s financial literacy from an early age. Nevertheless, some children lack motivation to do domestic responsibilities and offering compensation can fix this. For instance, a child who engages in cleaning and receives a small payment may develop budgeting skills and understanding of the value of money. Moreover, offering payment for chores can foster a spirit of collaboration and teamwork within the family.

On the other hand, opponents of this practice argue that it has a great number of drawbacks. Firstly, if children are paid for every task, they may start bargaining over how much money they receive for different chores. Secondly, giving a stipend for doing home responsibilities may erode intrinsic motivation. Therefore, this practice can lead to children refusing to help unless they receive payment.

In conclusion, while there are valid arguments on both sides, in my opinion, parents should not pay money for doing home tasks. Engaging in home duties should be viewed as a natural part of family living.