Some people would say that parents should pay their children for small home duties (cleaning, washing dishes). Other would disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many individuals advocate that parents should encourage their children to do chores by giving them money, while others argue that it will have a detrimental impact on their upbringing. From my perspective, providing children with pocket money for doing some work around the house negatively affects their personal development as it fosters individualism and materialism.

On the one hand, paying money to kids for completing home duties makes them disciplined and teaches essential life skills. By motivating kids with a financial reward, parents are able to not only satisfy their children’s desires but also inspire them to do chores on a regular basis. After many American families started paying pocket money to their children, they realised that it is actually advantageous as children learn the value of hard work and respect their parents for providing them with opportunities to earn money. This system also helps adolescents understand the concept of saving and budgeting, since they learn to prioritise their spending and make smart financial decisions.

On the other hand, giving money to children for completing chores makes them selfish and more inclined to help people with expecting to get something in return. As a result, children tend to request a financial reward for everyday tasks, hindering their empathy and compassion towards other individuals. This exposure can lead to a lack of nurturing kindness and sincere generosity in children’s interaction with others, negatively affecting their socialisation in the long term. For instance, many Caucasian parents urge their children to value intrinsic rewards, such as the feeling of accomplishment and satisfaction from helping others, rather than focusing on money. This approach fosters a sense of community and encourages children to develop a strong moral compass.

To sum up, although there are numerous benefits in paying children for small home duties, I believe that it adversely influences their personality through undermining the importance of contributing to the family unit out of a sense of responsibility and love rather than money.