Some people would say that parents should pay their children for small home duties (cleaning, washing dishes). Other would disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is suggested that children should receive an allowance from their parents for the minor house chores such as cleaning and washing dishes; however, there are some oppositions with the idea of paying children for domestic tasks. Even though giving money as a reward have potential benefits, I believe, it has largely detrimental effects in terms of a child development to the long term.

On the one hand, people who advocate the notion of giving children money for family tasks often believe that this incentive can enhance their interest to earn money from their early age and children began to learn how to save and spend money which is fundamental for their future lives. Because, as an independent individual it gives them a chance to shape their understanding about the value of things, and equip themselves with knowledge for how to use household application from childhood.

On the other hand, opponents of this idea that engaging children in house duties through compensate argue that their stance is also based on valid reasoning. The chief reason is that offering money to children for the common domestic chores probably can harm their sense of responsibility and makes them self-centered individual through dissuading them doing house tasks willingly. For example, setting the table while their parent prepare dinner is practical not only by giving extra hands for parents, but also it might provide children with satisfaction that increased their self-esteem and boost their confidence by reinforcing a child personal competence. Another disadvantage about children reward from family is it might not work in a long term. As the youngsters would probably want more money, because reward are given consistently ,children might develop a sense of entitlement .They begin to expect higher money for the same duti,believing that they contribution deserves more .

In conclusion, encouraging children to do house chores by offering them money may work in some degree but I believe it usually leads to undesirable results either unwillingness to do it without reward and makes them egoists or deter them feel a sense of accomplishment and boost their personal capability .